If you’ve decided to get a divorce and live in Missouri, you may be asking how long your divorce is going to take. The answer to that question depends on many factors, but there are a few requirements that you need to meet that will take some time to complete.
To start with, you will need to file for divorce and have a period of legal separation. You can only file for divorce in Missouri if you have lived in the state for at least 90 days or are married to someone who has lived in the state for 90 days.
If you and your spouse both agree to the divorce, you also need to show that you’ve been legally separated for at least 12 months. If one of you does not agree, then the state requires you to separate for 24 months.
Are there exceptions to the separation requirements?
Yes, there are. If you were abandoned by your spouse for at least six months, then you can file for divorce. You may also be able to skip the separation requirements if your spouse committed adultery or if they were involved in a criminal act. A judge may also approve the divorce earlier if one spouse can’t tolerate the behavior of the other, such as because one is stealing from the other or there is abuse occurring.
Looking at these timelines, the shortest length of time you will have to wait for your divorce decree from when you decide you want a divorce is 30 days. Most divorces will take at least a few months, and at most, you could be looking at, at least, two years if you haven’t completed your separation period.
Factors like your property division settlement, child custody and other issues may add additional time to the case.
Know your state’s laws to move your case along
Divorcing can be complex, and many aspects of it could slow down your case. If you take the time to get to know the divorce laws in the state, you may be able to make better decisions that help you move your case along faster.