Helping You Overcome A Big Bump In The Road
Missouri takes driving while intoxicated and driving under the influence charges very seriously. Even a first-offense DUI can carry severe penalties that can impact the rest of your life. While DUIs are increasingly common as law enforcement has cracked down, we know that these charges impact people from all walks of life. Our criminal defense attorneys understand that a DUI charge does not define you, and it does not have to ruin the rest of your life.
No one facing an intimidating DUI charge should feel inconsequential. You deserve a fierce advocate who will fight for your rights and work to lessen the impact of your charges. At Albano, Richart, Welch & Bajackson, LLC, our DUI and DWI defense lawyers represent clients in Independence and Kansas City with DUI charges. You can trust our decades of experience and respected name to defend you against harsh punishments and lifelong consequences.
We Take Your Charges Seriously
In Missouri, you can be charged with a DWI or a DUI if you have a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher if you are a non-commercial driver 21 years or older. Drivers under 21 are legally drunk with a blood alcohol level of .02% or more. The limit for commercial drivers is .04%.
With each DUI charge, the penalties increase. A first-time offender may face up to six months in prison and a $500 fine. Your driver’s license will be revoked for 30 days, with an additional 60-day period of restricted driving privileges. The driving privileges would only allow you to drive to necessary places, such as work or school. A judge may also require the use of an ignition interlock device for 30 days after your license reinstatement.
Someone who commits a second DUI within five years faces up to one year in prison and a $1000 fine. Your driver’s license will be revoked for one year. You will have to use an ignition interlock device for at least 30 days after your license reinstatement.
Aside from the legal punishments, a DUI carries consequences that can impact you and your family. You may have trouble keeping or obtaining certain jobs and licenses, and the license revocation period can significantly interrupt your daily life. A DUI will stay on your criminal record indefinitely and on your driving record for ten years, raising your insurance rates.
Do Not Hesitate To Contact Us As Soon As Possible For Experienced DUI Representation
If you face a DUI charge in the greater Kansas City area, it is in your best interests to contact us immediately. We offer free consultations for DUI cases and will get to work right away on defending your rights. Call us today at 816-533-7673 or contact us online to get started.